top of page
  • billsheehan1

Walking in a Field (poem, 1970)

When walking in a field,

Admiring the weedy ground,

My knees did yield,

To a daisy found.


Engulfed in my fingers,

As if growing there,

Its freshness lingers,

In the scented air.


Walking in a field,

Of bountiful, buzzing bees,

I watch them yield,

To the nectar in daisies.


Walking in a field,

I spot a field mouse,

I see the ground did yield,

So he could build a house.


Walking in a field,

A bird flies to a tree,

The branch did yield,

To his feathered body.


Walking in a field,

Weedy carpet of green,

Gladly did it yield,

So harmony could be seen.


Walking in a field,

Acts as a cure.

We all must yield,

And learn from nature.


Walking in a field,

An experience so pure,

I would gladly yield,

To the harmony of nature.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Commenti


bottom of page