top of page
  • billsheehan1

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep

                             In a place dark and deep.

                             My last refuge, my Castle Keep.

                             Now gone for good, no one should weep.

                             Saw much, learned much, lived long.

                             Did mostly good, but too much wrong.

                             Too many friends too quickly gone.

                             I hear the dirge of my death song.

 

                             I wait for unknown darkness, so near.

                             A shape walks toward my, not clear.

                             I glare through it, a skeptic’s sneer.

                             I challenge as I always do, little fear.

                            

                             Once I was steel, now tin.

                             Two round, black shapes, so thin.

                             Now we both show a silly grin

                             We shake hands, it’s really him.

                             Mickey Mouse and I shout, “WE Win!”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

WOLFMAN

The wolf appeared in his dream, To his surprise he did not scream. He thought for sure it was the end, But he glared back, did not bend,...

Comments


bottom of page