top of page
  • billsheehan1

Vietnam Soldier (Poem, 1970)

Must the young soldier die,

Without really knowing why?

Must his widow weep,

From thoughts of his mined jeep?

Must the soldier’s father shout,

That the general was a lout.


Must the soldier’s mother stare

At a boy who is not there?

Must the soldier’s brother wait,

For the Draft to call his fate?

Must the boy’s sister say,

“I’ll miss him every day.”


Must the soldier’s uncle wonder,

How America got into this blunder?

Must the soldier’s aunt surmise,

In the closed coffin, what shape lies?

Must the soldiers cousins run

From what the war had done?


Tomorrow is a new day.

Will we find a new way?

Or continue to kill and maim,

While camouflaging our shame

Over the trade of a Purple Heart,

For one human life – blown apart.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comments


bottom of page