top of page
  • billsheehan1

Upon the Grass (Poem, 1969)

When first we met upon the grass,

Few words spoken, glances did pass,

Her brown eyes warm, so full of joy,

I felt as does a little boy,

Who discovers beauty one fine day,

And blushes for lack of words to say.

I left her side and knew just then,

That I wanted her to be my friend.


Again and again this woman I met,

The days I cherish and will never forget,

We walked and talked; the days flew by,

The nights were lonely, I’d almost cry.

My friendship did slowly disappear,

In exchange for something more sincere.

My feelings were strong as the wings of a dove,

Now I knew that I was in love.


Our faces drawn together tight,

In expressions of pure delight,

Lips met for a tender kiss,

Thoughts rose in romantic bliss.

The joy received from her embrace,

Surpassed only by her beautiful face,

Hands that hold me in a special way,

Confirm my love will never stray.


Soon will be time for her to leave,

A time at which I shall certainly grieve,

But I shall see this woman again,

Because she is truly much more than a friend.

Look close, my love, and you will see,

A happiness in me called ecstasy.

These words of mine are honest and true,

I love you darling. I love you.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Opmerkingen


bottom of page