top of page
  • billsheehan1

THE YEARS AND ME (poem, 5-15-70)


When I was young, maybe three,

I used to dream about the sea.

I used to think of things I’d do,

While sailing on waves of blue.


When I was young, maybe four,

I never thought of misery and war.

Life was like a fairy tale,

Without stormy clouds or gale.


When I was young, maybe five,

My coloring book pictures came alive.

I colored a ship, which to my delight,

Sailed off the page and out of sight.


When I was young, maybe six,

After a rain I floated sticks,

And I imagined a virgin beach,

Other men had failed to reach.


When I was young, maybe seven,

I wondered if people sailed in heaven.

I figured, on clouds, angels float,

But I preferred water and a boat.


When I was young, maybe eight,

I wondered about my fate.

Would I ever get to see

A friendly wave, wave to me.


When I was young, maybe nine,

A sailor’s life sure looked fine.

Adventure awaited on the seas,

Or so it looked in all the movies.


When I was young, maybe ten,

I had my own small play den.

In there I had so many schemes.

In there I had so many dreams.


When I was young, about eleven,

I thought back to when I was seven.

Although those years had passed by,

My imagined world did not die.


When I was young, maybe twelve,

I had completed, on a shelf,

May types of navy ships,

And I imagined pleasure trips.


When I was young, maybe thirteen,

Life was not cruel or mean,

And since I felt little pain,

I lacked incentive to use my brain.


When I was young, maybe fourteen,

I had a problem, to me yet unseen.

I evaded responsibility,

A sign of my lack of maturity.


When I was young, maybe fifteen,

I still possessed that same old dream,

Of someday undulating on a wave,

Of having fun and being brave.


When I was young, maybe sixteen,

Mundane problems had little meaning.

I thought no more of war,

Than I did when I was four.


When I was young, maybe seventeen,

Sometimes I’d do things wild or mean.

Ideals and values I did lack.

That’s easily seen when I look back.


When I was young, maybe eighteen,

I was on the brink of my dream,

But I was in for a rude surprise,

Because my dreams were total lies.


When I was a young man of nineteen,

I finally realized that dream.

I joined the sea-going Navy,

And there started my maturity.


When I was a young man of twenty,

I was a man who learned plenty.

I could hardly believe,

That I’d been so naïve.


When I was a young man of twenty-one,

I found a sailor’s life was not fun.

I thought back to when I was three,

And those dreams of non-reality.


When I was a young man of twenty-two,

I had my answers about what to do.

The Navy and I must certainly part,

So I waited for that day to start.


When I was a young man of twenty-three,

From the Navy I was finally free.

I’d lived through four years of conflict,

No longer would I live like a convict.


Now as a young man of twenty-four,

I find that civilian life is not a bore.

As I walk anew through my future’s door,

I intend to accomplish so much more.


When I was young, I could not see,

Through the façade of fantasy.

But now let my voice be heard.

My vision is no longer blurred.


When I was young, I could not see,

But the years were my remedy.

They cast out all the hocus-pocus,

By placing my eyes and mind in focus.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comments


bottom of page