top of page
  • billsheehan1

TEACHER ANNE FRIEND (poem, 4-2-70)


She entered my life one lonely spring,

As a teacher who was always helping.

She asked me to come to school,

And use learning as a tool

To break the lid off my depression,

Freeing me from self-repression.


Her face dressed in a gentle smile,

Making me grin for a short while.

Goodness was reaching out to me,

From her angelic hands I would not flee.

It was on that day, I started leaning.

My hopes and dreams began returning.


We talked of things we saw or read,

On subjects both living and dead.

She made my days worth living,

From her heart she was always giving.

She earned my unfaltering respect,

And admiration for her intellect.


A superlative friend is difficult to find.

Once found she is difficult to leave behind.

Once left behind it makes me ponder,

Why could it not have lasted longer?

But all good things inevitably end,

So, I’m thankful for my teacher Anne friend.






0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comments


bottom of page