top of page
  • billsheehan1

Society's Posse (Poem, 1970)

I turn, I look, I laugh,

Straying from a traditional path.

Society’s posse can’t follow me,

Without departing the path of conformity.

Through the wilderness I ride,

Enjoying nature by my side.

Riding onward, riding free,

Tree limbs reach out to greet me.

Romping rabbits, squirrels and deer,

Create a symphony for my ears.

Sunlight filtering through verdant trees,

The comfort of a gentle breeze,

Air so crisp and clear,

Nothing can feel more dear.

I strayed from tradition’s path,

Again I turn, I look, I laugh.

Society’s posse did not follow,

For them I feel a slight sorrow.

I made my own path and found beauty,

In the wilderness of nonconformity.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Commentaires


bottom of page