top of page
  • billsheehan1

RAIN (poem, 6-28-99)

Updated: Jun 1, 2021



It filters the mental dust, confusion, stress.

Its tap, tapping, drip, dripping wet melody

Soothes me, encapsulates me in a liquid

Coat of armor; safe and protected.

It releases my tension and invigorates me,

Calms me, and quiets me.

I watch it fall from the sky like gentle bullets,

Or sparkling liquid pearls.

Tap, tapping like a mesmerizing telegraph key,

Sending me a message of peace and joy,

Reminding me of daughter and wife,

Because of them - my wonderful life.

I face the gray sky feeling the wetness wash me.

Feel the sorrow, disappointment, guilt

Wash away like flotsam in a flood.

Now, such peace, such relaxing bliss.

My eyelids grow pleasingly heavy.

My body feels relaxed and light.

My mind drifts off to a pleasant place.

A place full of love and happy memories,

A superbly wonderful dreamer’s paradise,

Where I can hold my precious daughter close,

And tenderly kiss my wonderful wife.

I am at peace, in the embrace of my family,

And I still hear that delightful,

Tap, tapping melody, my personal, fluid orchestra

Celebrating the love between Sandy, Mara, me.

Sorrow, disappointment, guilt dissolve ─ I’m free.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comentarios


bottom of page