top of page
  • billsheehan1

Pattern Makers (Poem, 1970)

Their buoyant splendor, like swans on ice,

Their movements so velvety, so precise,

With silver blades upon their feet,

Eyes in awe from such a feat.


My eyes lie helpless in my face,

While witnessing their swan-like grace.

The aesthetic rhythm of their flight,

Floods my senses with chilling delight.


They leave a skillful trail behind,

Of artistic patterns upon my mind.

Figurative lines of the whitest shades,

Drawn on the ice with silver blades.


They seldom ever slip or slide,

Having mastered the ice with pride.

The sun reflects off blades so cold,

And now they float on blades of gold.


If I could have a bird’s-eye view,

I would gladly exhaust every sinew

To observe the swan-like pattern makers,

Whom people say are simply ice-skaters.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comments


bottom of page