top of page
  • billsheehan1

Little Jimmy (Poem, 1972)

Little Jimmy was a boy,

Full of happiness, full of joy,

Until one day when nothing mattered,

Because his world had been shattered.


Jimmy used to go to school,

Where he practiced the golden-rule.

He was friendly with all the boys,

And shared with them all the toys.


Jimmy even liked the girls,

And complimented their disheveled curls.

He used to say their hair looked free,

Blown by winds he could not see.


But happiness is over, nothing mattered,

From that day, his life was shattered,

For some cruel person, maybe you or me,

Wrongly called him selfish, stupid and ugly.


I often wonder why we blunder,

And tear a happy life asunder.

Is it that we ignore the message

Of the importance of a child’s self-image?


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comentarios


bottom of page