top of page
  • billsheehan1

FAREWELL YOUTH

Youth has gone,

                                      Life nearly done.

                                      Set me on a Viking Pyre.

                                      My life’s light will expire.

 

                                      My mind lives in youth,

                                      But the mirror sees the truth.

                                      I am thankful for the long road,

                                      And the lightness of my load.

 

                                      I see the end, Dead End,

                                      That happens to all, relative or friend.

                                      Still, sadness shackles my mind,

                                      Waiting for death, so unkind.

 

                                      Body slowed where once it glowed.

                                      Dulled mind, where once it shined.

                                      Wrinkled face, absence of grace.

                                      Muscles old, no longer bold.

 

                                      Yet I leave behind

                                      A daughter, sweet and kind.

                                      So this old man does not mind,

                                      When his life does finally unwind.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comentários


bottom of page