top of page
  • billsheehan1

DEFEAT


                 Iron armor yields to a soft shell.

                             Lips stretch widely in an agonized yell.

                             Desperate thoughts rush in pell-mell,

                             That I am powerless to quell.

                             The nightmare ends with the sound of a bell.

                             Awake now in a dark, rancid cell

                             With a weak and beaten soul to sell.

                             Body empty as a deep, dry well.

                             Why complain, why tell

                             That enough teardrops fell,

                             To extinguish the fires in Hell.            

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comments


bottom of page