top of page

DARK DREAM


           I see now that Death is a friend.

                             It comes to me at my life’s end.

                             I grasp its hand, cold and bony.

                             It lives a life so very lonely,

                             Therefore, he asked me to be his friend,

                             To accompany him around the bend.

                             Is it really my enemy?

                             It says that I’m decision free,

                             But red-hot coals for eyes I see.

                             Perhaps portrayed wrongly by History?

                             The black hood and robe, biased thought?

                             Now I ponder, have I been caught?

                             I squeeze its hand. The stronger was me,

                             However, I did offer my hand freely.

                             I want to leave with him, but make it fast,

                             Knowing my death will forever last

                             I say good-bye to a good life,

                             Mostly thankful to my wife,

                             And to a daughter so very sweet.

                             It was damn hard to say good-bye,

                             But you’ll feel me smiling from the night sky.

                             My love for you both will never end.

                             From the Northern Star a whisper I’ll send.

                             Nothing mysterious or clever,

                             Just the words, “Love always and forever”.

                   

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comments


bottom of page