top of page
  • billsheehan1

BEAST (poem 5-5-78)


There is a brutal beast inside.

I wish it was not there.

Against my will it does reside,

Unwanted, but it doesn’t care.


Behind that fake look of love,

And gentleness that seems so fair,

A hawk descends upon a dove,

And drags the carcass to its lair.


It lurks behind the shadows dark.

It shuns the light of day.

It plots before it makes its mark,

Into the heart of its prey.


It sits alone upon its throne,

In the kingdom of the dove,

And ties a massive marble stone,

Around the neck of Love.


There is a brutal beast inside,

I wish it wasn’t there.

Now I know we must collide,

When I dare to burn its lair.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Comentarios


bottom of page