top of page
  • billsheehan1

A PATH DOES THE FUTURE MAKE

A path does a future make.

Each person makes the choice.

A choice of which path to take,

Based upon their personal sake.

 

Pick a path, walk it right,

Stand tall and decide well.

Make your future bright,

And on vice do not dwell.

 

I chose the teacher/wife/daughter path

And along came a little girl,

After seven years, do the math,

Then arrived my priceless pearl.

 

A precious child for me to love.

A daughter who returns love to me.

She’s my bright star from above.

A star shaped like my heart’s key.

 

Two paths I saw, one dark, one bright

Which to follow, the light or dark?

Pulled to darkness, I sprinted to light.

Rejecting darkness to make my bright mark.

 

Two paths had appeared before my eye.

What should I do? said I.

No pause, no delay, no confused sigh.

I chose, never needing a regretful cry.

 

 

NOTE: I wrote this with Robert Frost’s

poem, The Road Not Taken, in mind.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOLDEN YEARS?

Supposed great, golden years, Remembered youth produces tears. Now I have trouble seeing, And worse trouble peeing. Some foods give me...

DARK AND DEEP

Now I lay me down to sleep In a place dark and deep. My last refuge, my Castle Keep. Now gone for good, no one should weep. Saw much,...

BEN DOVER

Like an onion, layers and layers of lies Behind many people’s beguiling eyes. Their face calm, occupied by a false smile. So easy for...

Commentaires


bottom of page